News Banner

Dinagyang Will Not Join Aliwan 2014

Dinagyang Festival will not go to Aliwan Fiesta in Manila this year, Iloilo City tourism officer Ben Jimena confirmed.
He issued the clarification amid rumors over the internet that Dinagyang will have a surprise performance in the annual event.
“We have decided not to join. It is not true that we will surprise our audiences in this year’s Aliwan festivities,” emphasized Jimena.
“We encourage the people to stop spreading false hopes and information in promoting Dinagyang, Iloilo, and Ilonggo culture,” he stated.
Instead, Jimena said Dinagyang will prepare for a much bigger showcase outside of the country.
“We already did it in the previous Aliwan fiestas. Now, it’s time to take a step further in promoting our festival for the world to see,” he added.
Dinagyang Festival already won five grand champion of the annual Aliwan Fiesta in Manila, which is a showcase and competition of different Philippine festivals.
During the awarding ceremonies in January, Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog mentioned that the winning “tribes”will go out of the Philippines to promote tourism to the international market such as United States, Canada, and Singapore.
“It is Dinagyang’s honor representing the Philippines to the world, truly living up to its tagline this year,” he said with reference “Bringing More Fun to the World.”

Dinagyang 2014 Ati Dance Competition Order of Performances

The Dinagyang Festival Ati Dance Competition 2014 order of performances will go as follows (based from Freedom Grandstand. The rest follows the same carousel route and may subject to changes):

Stage 1 – Freedom Grandstand

  • Tribu Angola
  • Tribu Salognon
  • Tribu Paghidaet

Stage 2 – Provincial Capitol

  • Tribu Baybayanon
  • Tribu Molave
  • Tribu Atub-Atub

Stage 3 – Quezon-Ledesma

  • Tribu Ilonganon
  • Tribu Panayanon

Stage 4- Maria Clara

  • Tribu Milagrosa
  • Tribu Obreros
Dinagyang Festival Route Map

Temporary Road Closures on Dinagyang 2014

For the public’s information, hereunder are the activities for the upcoming 2014 Dinagyang Festival, with corresponding road closures, to wit:

Date/Time Event Roads Temporarily Closed to Vehicular Traffic
Jan. 17, Friday


Opening Salvo Road of Freedom Grandstand,  J.M. Basa St., Bonifacio Drive,  Gen. Luna St., Quezon St., Ledesma St., Iznart St., Rizal St. & Mapa St.
Jan. 19, Sunday


4th Iloilo Dinagyang 5Km & 21Km Half-Marathon Right lane portion of Sen. Benigno Aquino Ave. (when facing towards Infante Ave) particularly from the road of Ungka, District of Jaro (Iloilo Radial by-pass Rd, Lanit) to Sambag, Dungonn B and Dungon B, Jaro, & from SM City Iloilo until Boardwalk Entrance (Iloilo Esplanade)
Jan. 20-24 


Ati Tribe/Kasadyahan Rehearsal Road of Freedom Grandstand, J.M Basa St.,  Bonifacio Drive, Gen. Luna St. Quezon St., Ledesma St., Iznart St., Rizal St. & Mapa St.
Jan. 22, Wed.  Ms. Iloilo Dinagyang 2014 Coronation Night Jalandoni St., City Proper
Jan. 23-24

4th Dinagyang Pyrolympics 2014 Luces in the Sky  (SM City Parking Lot)
Jan. 23-26  Dinagyang IHRRA FOOD FESTIVAL Valeria St. and Delgado St.
Jan. 24, Friday


2014 Tambor Trumpa Martsa Musika Road of Caram Ave., J.M. Basa St.  Zamora St. & Calazans St.
Jan. 24, Friday


2014 Dinagyang Fluvial Procession Road of Bonifacio Drive, Caram Ave. J.M. Basa St., & Freedom Grandstand
Jan. 25-26   

Whole Day

2014 Dinagyang Festival          Road of Freedom Grandstand, J.M. Basa St., Bonifacio Drive, Gen. Luna St.,  Quezon St., Ledesma St., Iznart St.,Rizal St., Mapa St.

From the Sanggunihang Panglungsod ng Iloilo Official Facebook Account

News Banner

Schools’ Drums Corps Ready to Roar

Competing drum and bugle corps of participating schools are very excited to heat up Dinagyang fever during the Tambor, Trumpa, Martsa Musika which kicks off at Capitol area to Freedom Grandstand starting at 7am on January 24.

The competition will usher with “A Salvo of a Thousand Drums.”

A total of 12 elementary and five high schools will showcase their musical instruments and marching skills in one of Dinagyang side events organized by the Department of Education Division of City Schools.

The primary schools are Alimodian Elementary School; Sinamay Elem. School also in Alimodian, San Miguel Central School in Jordan, Guimaras; Dingle Central Elem. School; Iloilo Central Elem. School; A. Montes I Elem. School; Lapaz I Elem. School; Jaro I Elem. School; Jaro II Elem. School; Sambag Elem. School; Cubay Elem. School and Arevalo Elem. School.

The secondary schools are Iloilo City National High School, Ramon Avanceña National High School, Jalandoni Memorial National High School, Ajuy National High School and Dingle National High School.

The winners will bring home P25,000 for the champion, P20,000 for 1st runner-up, P15,000 for 2nd runner-up and trophy each. P5,000 consolation prize will be given to non-winners.

Musical instruments also await the winners.